Published On: Wed, Mar 3rd, 2021

Post Office: High street post giant partners with Amazon to launch click & collect trial

The Post Office launched its click and collect trial with Amazon on March 1. The partnership enables customers to pick up their Amazon parcels at their local Post Office.

The Post Office ended its partnership with Royal Mail in order to enter new relationships with other providers, such as Amazon.

According to The Grocer, a letter sent to postmasters from the Post Office said: “We are excited for you to join us on this new venture in partnership with Amazon.

“We’re sure you will appreciate the significance of this and what a great opportunity it can be.”

Postmasters participating in the trial have received smartphones that can be used to scan the Amazon parcels once they are delivered to the post offices by courier.

How do you clean gutters? How often? [DETAILS]
Royal Mail shares update on service delays [FULL LIST]
Royal Mail shares latest postcodes hit by delivery delays in UK [DETAILS]

Customers will be able to present a pick-up code at their nearest Post Office before collecting their Amazon parcel.

A Post Office spokesperson said on Monday: “We can confirm a click & collect trial with a leading e-commerce retailer has begun today in three UK cities.

“We want customers to enjoy the convenience, expert advice and safe hands postmasters offer when it comes to handling parcels and we’ll be sharing more details about this trial and how it has worked with postmasters in due course.”

Speaking after his company’s agreement with Royal Mail had ended, Post Office Chief Executive Nick Read said in December last year: “The new agreement allows us to work with other third parties, marking an important milestone.”

In other post news, Royal Mail customers could be faced with delays this week as a result of “resourcing issues”.

The postal service has experienced a spike in demand over the last few months due to the coronavirus pandemic.

This week, 12 postcodes may be affected by postal delays.

These are Braintree (CM6, CM7), Chatham (ME4, ME5), Kidderminster (DY10, DY12, DY14), Leighton Buzzard (LU7), and Margate (CT7, CT9).

Source link

Most Popular News