Published On: Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019

Donald Trump latest: Expert reveals nearly two-thirds of American expect re-election | World | News

The poll was conducted by political analyst Scott Rasmussen, who was one of the co-founders of ESPN. Trump is currently facing off against former Massachusetts Governor Bill Weld for the Republican nomination for next year’s election. Mr Rasmussen’s daily memo explained: “The President’s job approval rating has also remained stable throughout the year.

“Despite that stability, the number who believe it’s likely that the president will be re-elected has grown every month.

“In August, 63 percent say President Trump is at least somewhat likely to be re-elected, up from 46 percent in February.”

Trump’s chance of re-election have steadily improved throughout 2019, as he recorded 50 percent in March, 54 percent in April, 57 percent in May and 60 percent in July.

Under US law, Trump is only allowed to stand for two terms as President.

trump news

Elizabeth Warren is bookies favourite to win the Democrat nomination (Image: GETTY)

bill weld

Bill Weld is standing against Trump for the Republican nomination (Image: GETTY)

As the first President, George Washington was POTUS for only two terms, American Presidents have traditionally not sought a third term.

That was until Democrat Franklin Roosevelt, won a third and fourth term.

Mr Roosevelt passed away two months into his fourth term after 4,422 days in office.

Thus, in 1951, the 22nd Amendment have made Presidents ineligible for election to a third term or a second full term after serving serving more than two years, half of the term of another elected President.

READ MORE: Brexit snub: Trump has NO interest in UK trade – shock claim

hillary clinton

Trump beat Hillary Clinton in the last Presidential election (Image: GETTY)

In addition to Mr Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, Andrew Jackson, Ulysses S. Grant, Grover Cleveland, Woodrow Wilson, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama have served two full terms.

Mr Cleveland, a Democrat, is the only President to serve two non-consecutive terms, after losing the 1888 election to Republican Benjamin Harrison before defeating Mr Harrsion and Populist Party candidate James B. Weaver in 1892.

Several Presidents have served one full time and a second partial term: Harry S. Truman (who replaced Mr Roosevelt), Theodore Roosevelt (who succeeded William McKinley), Calvin Coolidge (who became POTUS following Warren G. Harding’s sudden death), Richard Nixon (who resigned due to the watergate scandal), Lyndon B. Johnson (who replaced Mr Nixon) and Mr McKinley and Abraham Lincoln, who were both assassinated.

The Republican nomination will be confirmed at the Republican National Convention in Charlotte next August.


Iran set to enrage Donald Trump with plan to meet Macron in France

China warning: US accused of sparking ‘new arms race’

Melania Trump: Did her ring cost more than Donald’s ex’s?


Franklin Roosevelt won four terms as US President (Image: GETTY)

barack obama

Barack Obama served two terms as US President (Image: GETTY)

The winner will take in the winner of the Democratic nomination race on November 3, with the term starting on January 20 2021.

Massachusetts senator Elizabeth Warren, a former Republican, is bookies favourite.

Ms Warren’s endorsements include Robert Kennedy’s grandson and Massachusetts congressman Joe Kennedy III, George HW Bush’s opponent in 1988 Michael Dukakis and comedian Rosie O’Donnell.

trump family tree

The Trump family tree (Image: EXPRESS)

The winner the race will be confirmed at the Democratic National Convention in Wisconsin in July 2020.

The US elections do not take place under a one person, one vote system.

Rather each state is given a certain number of votes through an electoral college, in which 538 electors choose by the state legislatures award votes based on the popular vote of how their state voted.

donald trump

Should he win, Trump will leave office in January 2025 (Image: GETTY)

The intention of the electoral college is to give smaller states more power in elections to prevent candidates from focusing on one major city.

An absolute majority of the electoral college votes in needed to become President, with California holding the most votes with 55 whilst Alaska, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont and Wyoming all hold just three.

On five occasions, the winner of the popular vote has not won the electoral college: Andrew Jackson in 1724, Samuel J. Tilden in 1876, Grover Cleveland in 1888, Al Gore in 2000 and Hillary Clinton in 2016.

All but two states award all of their votes to the winner of the state except for Maine and Nebraska who award two votes to the statewide winner and one to the winner of each congressional district.

Source link

Most Popular News