Published On: Wed, Aug 28th, 2019

Carabao Cup 3rd round draw LIVE: Man Utd, Liverpool, Arsenal and Chelsea to learn fixtures | Football | Sport

Carabao Cup 3rd round draw LIVE: Man Utd, Liverpool, Arsenal and Chelsea to learn their fate

Cherries survive

21:45: Drama at the Vitality Stadium. First Green missed one… two… three in a row with Bournemouth goalkeeper Mark Travers the lot! Bournemouth through 3-0 on penalties.

Sheffield Wednesday have just scored a 96th-minute winner against Rotherham to advance. So Newcastle vs Leicester is the only shoot-out still ongoing.


21:40: Well fair play to Forest Green! The League Two side have taken Bournemouth to a penalty shoot-out at the Vitality Stadium.

Sunderland have beaten Burnley 3-1 at Turf Moor to make Sean Dacha’s side the third Premier League side to exit the competition.

Portsmouth beat QPR 2-0, Swansea won 6-0 against Cambridge.

Everton lead

21:35: Alex Iwobi may have just spared Everton’s blushes with an 80th-minute strike against Lincoln. The summer signing pops up with a header to give Everton a 3-2 lead.

Ball numbers

21:30: We’re asked to provide a piece about ball numbers every single draw and honestly, I have no idea why.

But should you wish to know your sides number for tonight’s draw – they are ALL at the bottom of the page.


21:25: Remember folks, there is no extra time or replays tonight – so it’ll be straight to penalties if any sides are level at full time.

Currently, four ties are heading for spot-kicks with Lincoln 2-2 Everton, Newcastle 1-1 Leicester, Rotherham 0-0 Sheffield Wednesday and Bournemouth 0-0 Forest Green.

Latest updates

21:20: So… what’s happening?

Well, Everton conceded after just 23 seconds to Lincoln but Lucas Digne and Gylfi Sigurdsson hit back to make it 2-1. The Toffees looked to be comfortable until Bruno Andrade leathered an absolute worldie of a volley to make it 2-2 with 15 minutes left.

The all-Premier League tie between Newcastle and Leicester is level at 1-1. Swansea are being mean and thumping Cambridge 5-0. And quite incredibly – Forest Green are goalless away to Bournemouth.

The giant-killing of the evening award looks to be heading to Sunderland – who are currently 3-1 up away to Burnley.


21:15: Hello everyone and welcome to our LIVE coverage of the Carabao Cup third-round draw.

Having been granted the marvellous gift of late entry to the competition – European travellers Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham, Liverpool and Wolves are involved in excitement tonight.

We lost two Premier League scalps yesterday evening with Norwich and Crystal Palace being dumped out. I’ll let you know the latest from tonight’s seven fixtures shortly.

The draw…

Holders Manchester City, alongside runners-up Chelsea, will enter the competition once the second round is completed.

Fellow European trophy chasers Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool and Tottenham will also wait to hear who they will face in the first of the domestic competitions this season.

Another Premier League side Wolves, who are competing in the Europa League are the final top-flight team entering the draw.

The draw will take place on Wednesday 28 August straight after Sky Sports’ coverage of Lincoln City’s round two clash with Everton, which can be caught on Main Event.

Sky Sports presenter Laura Woods will host the draw, which should begin around 9.35pm, providing Everton and Lincoln don’t head to penalties.

The third round fixtures that are drawn will take place in the week commencing September 23.

Carabao Cup 3rd round draw LIVE: Man Utd, Liverpool & Arsenal involved

Carabao Cup 3rd round draw LIVE: Man Utd, Liverpool & Arsenal involved (Image: GETTY)

Carabao Cup draw ball numbers

1. Arsenal, 2. Chelsea, 3. Liverpool, 4. Manchester City, 5. Manchester United, 6. Tottenham, 7. Wolves, 8. Reading, 9. Crawley, 10. West Ham, 11. Oxford, 12. Watford, 13. Swansea City / Cambridge United, 14. Luton, 15. Brighton, 16. Colchester, 17. Southampton, 18. AFC Bournemouth / Forest Green Rovers, 19. MK Dons, 20. Queens Park Rangers / Portsmouth, 21. Aston Villa, 22. Lincoln City / Everton, 23. Stoke, 24. Sheffield United, 25. Rotherham United / Sheffield Wednesday, 26. Newcastle United / Leicester City, 27. Burton, 28. Burnley / Sunderland, 29. Nottingham Forest, 30. Grimsby Town / Macclesfield Town, 31. Preston, 32. Rochdale

Source link

Most Popular News