Published On: Thu, Aug 29th, 2019

Brexit news: The three anti-proroguing Cabinet members who will not resign | Politics | News

These are Health and Social Care Secretary Matt Hancock, Work and Pensions Secretary Amber Rudd and Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Secretary Nicky Morgan. Former Education Secretary Mrs Morgan was out of the Cabinet for the entirety of the premiership of Theresa May, though Mrs May appointed Ms Rudd and Mr Hancock to their current positions. Friends of Ms Rudd said she was “disappointed” that Prime Minister Boris Johnson took the measure, but said she will not quit “while there is still the chance of a deal” with the European Union.

Mr Hancock said during the Tory leadership contest that proroguing Parliament would mean “the end of the Conservative Party as a serious party of Government” and Mrs Morgan described the move as “mad”.

The Daily Telegraph reports both are understood to be staying in the Cabinet due to hopes the pressure tactic results in the EU renegotiating a better deal.

Michael Gove, now the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, had said such a move would be “wrong” and it would contradict “the best traditions of British democracy”.

Now Chancellor of the Exchequer, Sajid Javid warned in a Channel 4 debate for Tory leadership that “you don’’t deliver democracy by trashing our democracy.”

Mr Johnson moved both men into their current positions.

Mr Javid was Home Secretary, now replaced by Priti Patel, whilst Mr Gove was Environment Secretary, now replaced by Theresa Villiers.

More to follow… 

Source link

Most Popular News